Hightower Advisors, LLC
Registered investment adviser · Chicago, IL · CRD #145323
Form ADV data as of 2026-09-01Regulatory assets
$198.58 billion
Total accounts
220,222
Employees
1,983
Disclosure events
9
Firm details
- Website: https://hightowerbethesda.com/
- Telephone: 312-962-3800
- SEC file number: 801-69625
- Most recent Form ADV filing: 2026-08-19
- SEC record: View this firm on the SEC's IAPD site
Disciplinary disclosures
This firm reports 7 disclosure questions answered Yes, covering 9 reported events. Form ADV Item 11 covers charges and pending proceedings as well as findings, so a Yes answer is not itself a finding of wrongdoing. The underlying detail is filed with the SEC.
- SEC or CFTC found a violation of its regulations or statutes
- SEC or CFTC entered an order in connection with investment-related activity
- SEC or CFTC imposed a civil money penalty or a cease-and-desist order
- Another regulator found a violation of investment-related regulations or statutes
- Another regulator entered an order in connection with investment-related activity (past 10 years)
- Another regulator denied, suspended, or revoked a registration or restricted activity
- A self-regulatory organization found a violation of its rules
Assets and accounts
| Provides continuous and regular supervisory or management services | Yes |
| Discretionary regulatory assets under management | $190.40 billion |
| Non-discretionary regulatory assets under management | $8.17 billion |
| Total regulatory assets under management | $198.58 billion |
| Discretionary accounts | 210,830 |
| Non-discretionary accounts | 9,392 |
| Total accounts | 220,222 |
| Regulatory assets under management attributable to non-U.S. persons | $20.37 billion |
People
| Total employees (excluding clerical) | 1,983 |
| Employees performing investment advisory functions (including research) | 953 |
| Employees who are registered representatives of a broker-dealer | 598 |
| Employees registered as investment adviser representatives with a state | 1,011 |
| Employees registered as IARs for another investment adviser | 0 |
| Employees who are licensed insurance agents | 338 |
| Firms or persons who solicit advisory clients on the firm's behalf | 77 |
Custody
| Has custody of client cash or bank accounts | Yes |
| Has custody of client securities | Yes |
| Client funds and securities held in the firm's custody | $1.23 billion |
| Clients for whom the firm has custody | 645 |
| A related person has custody of client cash or bank accounts | No |
| A related person has custody of client securities | No |
| The firm acts as a qualified custodian | No |
| A related person acts as a qualified custodian | No |
| Number of persons acting as qualified custodians for the firm's clients | 15 |
How the firm is compensated
Advisory services offered
Affiliated related persons
Reported conflicts of interest
Form ADV Items 8 asks advisers to disclose arrangements that may create a conflict with client interests. This firm answered Yes to:
- Buys or sells for itself securities it also recommends to clients
- Recommends securities in which it has another proprietary interest
- Brokers or dealers selected under 8.C.(3) are related persons
- Recommends brokers or dealers to clients
- Brokers or dealers recommended under 8.E. are related persons
- Receives soft dollar benefits
- Compensates a non-employee for client referrals
- Provides employee compensation specifically for obtaining clients
Client types
| Type of client | Clients | Assets |
|---|---|---|
| Individuals (other than high net worth individuals) | 33,630 | $21.50 billion |
| High net worth individuals | 29,177 | $157.43 billion |
| Banking or thrift institutions | Not reported | $20.1 million |
| Pooled investment vehicles (other than investment companies and BDCs) | 1 | $180.6 million |
| Pension and profit sharing plans (not the participants or government plans) | 221 | $795.9 million |
| Charitable organizations | 357 | $2.78 billion |
| State or municipal government entities (including government pension plans) | Not reported | $36.0 million |
| Insurance companies | 9 | $42.4 million |
| Corporations or other businesses not listed above | 640 | $15.79 billion |